Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow! Easter update

It did snow on Easter!

Easter Snow 2008

I left the house at 5:45 am for a sunrise service and there were just a few snowflakes casually drifting down. Thus I then concluded that the forecasters were wrong and the snow had missed us. Needless to say, I was very surprised when I emerged from church following the service and a lovely breakfast.

Breakfast @ St. James’

Perhaps the outdoor part of the service, where the congregation gathered around a small fire, should have alerted me to how cold it was (not mentioning the thermometer on my car said it was -1 C on the way to church). This outdoor bit of the service included putting the wounds (gold-colored, nail-like things) into the Christ candle. This was attempted, but it was cold enough that the wax was brittle and after the service the candle had to be mended with tape!

This was the scene that greeted me upon leaving the church. In the parking lot my car was covered (similar to these) despite having been clear of snow upon being parked less than two hours before.

Parking Lot

I drove to the village of Hanslope so intent on driving safely I was unable to appreciate the beautiful countryside shrouded in white. Upon entering the village I was able to relax a bit and appreciate the picturesque scenes which greeted me. I thought this thatched roof cottage looked magical under its dusting of snow.

Snow in Hanslope

As you can see, the weather didn’t prevent people from coming to church to celebrate Easter!

Easter Snow @ Hanslope Methodist

The above is the front entrance to Hanslope Methodist Church at the 9am Easter service. By the time I left Stony Stratford Methodist Church after the 10:30am service most traces of snow were gone.

Now, you may be calling me a “weather wimp” but please be kind in your judgment. After all, for a woman who grew up in warmer climes, snow at Easter is unheard of and very memorable. I am glad to say that the snowflakes didn’t dampen spirits and the congregations were still able to gather and celebrate together saying, “He is risen, indeed. Alleluia!”

0 Responses to “Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow! Easter update”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment