St. George’s Day

St. George, Patron Saint of England, was a soldier in the Roman Army and is best known for the legends regarding his slaying of a dragon. For most of the world April 23rd is the day he is remembered, because it is the traditionally accepted date of his death in 303 AD. In response to these commemorations, Google.co.uk ran this as their picture today and I thought it was so cute I had to share it.

Happy St. George’s Day!

I feel like this picture presents a teaching moment, something about words going up in smoke, but I can’t quite put my finger on it. So I will go with the obvious and say we should learn from the dragon to not play with fire, because you can attract the wrong kind of attention! I am sure there are more pithy lessons to be had, but they escape me now. Any suggestions?

0 Responses to “St. George’s Day”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment